A Happy New Year

It appears as though I completely forgot about my blog over the Fall and early Winter, so to the 3 people who actually follow this blog, my most sincere apologies. Christmas is over and it is officially 2015. One of my (few) resolutions for the new year is to update my blog on a weekly basis. I don’t know how realistic that is, but it’s a goal I will strive for. I love to write. And at least 1 person told me they enjoy reading my blog and wished I wrote more. So even if it’s just for myself and this 1 other person, I want to put my words out there. I’m hoping that something that I post will make a difference in someone’s life, or at least put a smile on someone’s face.

The twins are now 15 months old and a bundle of joyous energy. They are toddling around everywhere and on the verge of running. As soon as they can figure out how to get their little legs to move faster, they’ll be even more challenging to chase around :). They are also into everything and climbing on top of every piece of furniture that they possibly can. Reed is the more quiet of the 2 boys, but when he speaks (or screams), it is for all to hear. He loves to push buttons and is obsessed with remote controls and phones. He enjoys playing peek-a-boo and keep away, and absolutely loves splashing in the bathtub. Reed has his Daddy’s brown eyes and I melt every time I gaze into them. He and his brother both love to read, which makes me incredibly proud. Rory enjoys making animal noises (particularly quacking like a duck) and he loves to ask for something to eat by calling everything “nana.” He uses baby sign-language for “please,” “more” and “food.” But most of all, Rory keeps us on our toes. Aside from being incredibly accident-prone, he is the biggest baby goofball of all time and loves to tease everyone. He is quite the naughty little boy and loves to get a rise out of people by disobeying and then laughing about it. If I didn’t know any better, it’s as if my sister, Holly’s, mischievous spirit was reincarnated in my son. Regardless of his antics, we love this little guy and all that he adds to our family. Enjoy these pics of my favorite little men…

DSC_0075 DSC_0088 DSC_0101 DSC_0131 DSC_0147

Recently we spent Christmas in Northwest with both of our families. We were able to spend some time with my family in Vancouver, Washington, and were able to spend an entire week in Salem, Oregon, with Ronnie’s family. It was so fun to see the twins run around and play with their cousins, some of which they hadn’t seen in over a year! I wish these get-togethers were more frequent, but we will continue to cherish the limited time we have with our families and soak it in as much as possible. We were able to get updated family photos, which hasn’t happened in about 5 years, and I will post those as soon as we get them back from the photographer. We also took the boys to the Salem Riverfront Carousel for their first carousel ride. They were pretty hesitant during the ride and were crying to get off by the end, not to mention Ronnie and I were both sick to our stomachs, so we opted out of a second ride 😉 I still don’t know how I used to ride the Scrambler and the Tilt-a-Whirl over and over as a kid, and now I can’t even go around in a circle without feeling dizzy and nauseous. Anyway, it was great to spend some time in Salem as a little family of 4. The time there was very nostalgic for Ronnie and I, as it had been exactly 10 years since we had gotten engaged. We drove around West Salem looking at Christmas lights and drove past Green Villa Barn, our beautiful wedding reception site, out in Independence. We had some great quality time and conversations with our sisters and brothers-in-law, and were able to spend quite a bit of time loving on our nieces and nephews. During the course of our trip, we drank a lot of coffee, beer and wine, ate a lot of Wallery’s pizza and even enjoyed some delicious cake from Konditorei. One of our favorite nights was an adults-only late-night trip to the Deschutes Brew Pub in downtown Portland. I so love our families and already miss them terribly. But I am thankful for the memories made… those are the things that I will hold close until we can all be together again. Here are some of my pictures from our Christmas vacation…

IMG_5758DSC_0040 DSC_0155DSC_0174DSC_0063 IMG_5850IMG_5875DSC_0139  DSC_0170IMG_5838 DSC_0183 DSC_0195 DSC_0211 DSC_0230DSC_0221  DSC_0257IMG_5841IMG_5832IMG_5829IMG_5824_2DSC_0019 DSC_0262  DSC_0275DSC_0259DSC_0307 IMG_5777IMG_5760_2DSC_0319 DSC_0323 IMG_5818IMG_5770_2DSC_0300DSC_0329 DSC_0334DSC_0333IMG_5816_2

I don’t know what exactly this year is going to hold, but I am just enjoying each day as it comes. I just want to be mindful and thankful of the blessings I have been given… I have 2 beautiful babies and a wonderful husband who I truly love more dearly with each passing year. Ronnie and I will be celebrating 10 years of marriage this July, which means that I have spent 1/3 of my life with him. Wow. I am honored to call him my husband and so blessed to be able to spend my life with him. Here is a picture of just us… 🙂

IMG_5829

Happy New Year to you and yours, from me and mine.

-Heather

One thought on “A Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

